Hide
Cowpe, Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
COWPE-LENCHES, NEWHALLHEY, AND HALL-CARR, a township in Bury parish, Lancashire; E of the river Irwell, 4 miles SSE of Haslingden. Acres, 1,545. Pop., 2,851. Houses, 579.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, and Hall Carr.
The Register Office covering the Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr area is Hyndburn & Rossendale.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"COWPE, a township in the parish of Bury, in the higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county of Lancaster."
"COUPE, a township in the parish of Bury, in the county of Lancaster, 6 miles N. of Bury."
"LENCHES, a township in the parish of Bury, higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, county Lancaster, 8 miles N.W. of Manchester. It is a joint township with Coupe."
"NEWHALLHEY, a township in the parish of Bury, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, county Lancaster, 8 miles N. by W. of Manchester. It is situated in a hilly district, near the rivers Irwell and Roche."
"HALL-CARR, a township in the parish of Bury, higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, county Lancaster, 4 miles S.E. of Haslingdon, and 6 N. of Bury. It is united to Coupe Lench and Newhall-Hey. The village is considerable, and is situated near the rivers Irwell and Roche, and the East Lancashire railway."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cowpe, Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr to another place.
In 1835 Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr was a township in the parish of Bury.
View maps of Cowpe and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD824208 (Lat/Lon: 53.683619, -2.268548), Cowpe, Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cowpe,Lench, Newhall Hey, Hall Carr was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.