CUERDALE, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, 2½ miles E of Preston. Acres, 500. Real property, £1,098. Pop., 56. Houses, 11.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Leyland library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cuerdale.
The Register Office covering the Cuerdale area is Preston and South Ribble.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cuerdale to another place.
"CUERDALE, a township in the parish of Blackburn, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county of Lancaster, 2½ miles E. of Preston, its post town. It is situated on the E. bank of the river Ribble, and W. of the Derwent. Cuerdale Lodge is the principal residence."
In 1835 Cuerdale was a township in the parish of Blackburn.
You can see the administrative areas in which Cuerdale has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Cuerdale and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD594285 (Lat/Lon: 53.751462, -2.61738), Cuerdale which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)