Hide
Cuerdley
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
CUERDLEY, or Cruerdley, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, near the Sankey canal, 5 miles WSW of Warrington. Acres, 1,717; of which 190 are water. Real property, £2,412. Pop., 192. Houses, 34.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cuerdley.
The Register Office covering the Cuerdley area is Warrington.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"CUERDLEY, a township in the parish of Prescot, hundred of West Derby, in the county of Lancaster, 4 miles S.W. of Warrington, its post town and railway station. It is situated on the N. bank of the river Mersey, near the Sankey canal."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cuerdley to another place.
In 1835 Cuerdley was a township in the parish of Prescot.
View maps of Cuerdley and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ544861 (Lat/Lon: 53.370211, -2.686801), Cuerdley which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cuerdley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.