DALTON, a township in Burton-in-Kendal parish, Lancashire; at the boundary with Westmoreland, adjacent to the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, 1¼ mile SE of Burton-in-Kendal. Acres, 2,135. Real property, £1,931. Pop., 129. Houses, 20.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Dalton.
The Register Office covering the Dalton area is Kendal.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dalton to another place.
"DALTON, a township in the parish of Burton-in-Kendal, hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, in the county of Lancaster, 9 miles N.W. of Lancaster, and 1½ mile S.E. of Burton-in-Kendal, near the Lancaster and Carlisle railway. Fairs are held on the 6th June and 23rd October for cattle horses, and pedlery."
Dalton was a Lancashire Township in the parish of Burton in Kendal in Westmorland.
You can see the administrative areas in which Dalton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Dalton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD541758 (Lat/Lon: 54.175884, -2.704429), Dalton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)