DILWORTH, a township in Ribchester parish, Lancashire; on the Preston and Longridge railway, 7 miles NE of Preston. It contains Longridge village. Acres, 1, 226. Real property, £3,586. Pop., 959. Houses, 189.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Dilworth.
The Register Office covering the Dilworth area is Preston.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dilworth to another place.
"DILWORTH, a township in the parish of Ribchester, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county of Lancaster, 7 miles N.E. of Preston. It contains part of Longridge."
"LONGRIDGE, a village and chapelry in the township of Dilworth and parish of Ribchester, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles W. of Clitheroe. It is situated on the road from Preston to Clitheroe, near the river Ribble, and in the vicinity of Longridge Fell. There is a railway from Preston to the Fell, constructed chiefly for the conveyance of freestone from the celebrated "Delphs." A hospital is said to have been founded here at a distant period for a master and brethren, and dedicated to the Virgin Mary and our Saviour. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £170, in the patronage of Hulme's trustees. The church, dedicated to St. Lawrence, had a new tower built to it in 1841. Fairs are held on St. Lawrence's Day, 16th March, 16th April, Monday in Passion week, and 5th November, for the sale of live stock."
In 1835 Dilworth was a township in the parish of Ribchester.
You can see the administrative areas in which Dilworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD621383 (Lat/Lon: 53.839956, -2.577948), Dilworth which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)