DOWNHAM, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Ribble, at the boundary with Yorkshire, 2 miles NE of Chatburn r. station, and 3 NE of Clitheroe; and has a post office under Blackburn. Acres, 1,870. Real property, £2,211. Pop., 292. Houses, 70. The chapelry is larger than the township. Pop., 433. The property is divided among a few. The manor, with Downham Hall, belongs to the Asshetons. Some of the inhabitants are cotton-spinners. Limestone, of curiously fossiliferous character, is quarried. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £129.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is good; and there is a Wesleyan chapel. A school has £26 from endowment; and other charities £10.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Downham.
The Register Office covering the Downham area is Ribble Valley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Downham to another place.
"DOWNHAM, a township in the parish of Whalley, upper division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 2 miles S.E. of Chatburn station on the Lancashire and West Yorkshire railway, and 3 N.E. of Clitheroe. The inhabitants are employed in cotton spinning and in agriculture. Limestone and grit-stone are quarried. In the former are many curious fossils. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £129, in the patronage of Hulme's Trustees. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a stone structure in the early English style of architecture. The Wesleyans have a chapel, and there is a National school with an endowment of £25 per annum, the bequest of Ralph Assheton. The charities produce about £11 per annum. William Assheton, Esq., is lord of the manor."
In 1835 Downham was a township in the Parish of Whalley.
You can see the administrative areas in which Downham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Downham and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD797433 (Lat/Lon: 53.885725, -2.310246), Downham which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)