DOWN-HOLLAND, a township in Halsall parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3½ miles W by S of Ormskirk. Acres, 3, 474. Real property, £5,720. Pop., 748. Houses, 133.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Downholland.
The Register Office covering the Downholland area is West Lancashire.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Downholland to another place.
"DOWN HOLLAND, a township in the parish of Halsall, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 3 miles S.W. of Ormskirk. It is intersected by the Leeds and Liverpool canal. The village, which consists of a few scattered houses, is situated on the high road between Ormskirk and Formby. The soil is sandy, and the land chiefly arable. The old hall of Down Holland is now a farmhouse. There is a National school for children of both sexes. Charles Scarisbrick, Esq., is lord of the manor.
"DOWN HOLLAND, a township in the parish of Halsall, hundred of West Derby, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles S.W. of Ormskirk. It is intersected by the Leeds and Liverpool canal. Down Holland Hall, an ancient residence, is now occupied as a farm. There is a National school for both sexes. Charles Scarisbrick, Esq., is lord of the manor."
In 1835 Downholland was a township in the parish of Halsall.
You can see the administrative areas in which Downholland has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Downholland and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD345080 (Lat/Lon: 53.56476, -2.990797), Downholland which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)