Hide
Dutton
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
DUTTON, a township in Ribchester parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, 6½ miles N by W of Blackburn. Acres, 1,809. Real property, £1,749. Pop., 312. Houses, 59.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Dutton.
The Register Office covering the Dutton area is Preston and South Ribble
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"DUTTON, a township in the parish of Ribchester, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles N.W. of the Longridge station on the Fleetwood and Preston railway, and 7 N.W. of Blackburn, its post town. It is situated on the river Ribble. John and James Fenton, Esqs., are lords of the manor. Dutton Hall is half a mile from the village."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dutton to another place.
In 1835 Dutton was a township in the parish of Ribchester.
View maps of Dutton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD665379 (Lat/Lon: 53.836288, -2.510423), Dutton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Dutton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.