Hide
Elswick
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
ELSWICK, a township in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles N of Kirkham. Acres, 1,009. Real property, £1,845. Pop., 290. Houses, 65. There is an Independent chapel.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Garstang library.
| Lodge Lane Independent, Elswick |
Details about the census records, and indexes for Elswick.
| Lodge Lane Independent, Elswick |
The Register Office covering the Elswick area is Blackpool & Fylde.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"ELSWICK, a township in the parish of St. Michael-on-Wyre, hundred of Amounderness, county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles S.E. of Poulton-in-the-Fylde, and 6 N. of Kirkham. Elswick Lodge is the principal residence."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Elswick to another place.
In 1835 Elswick was a township in the parish of StMichaels.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD421381 (Lat/Lon: 53.836156, -2.881647), Elswick which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Elswick was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.