Hide
Fulwood
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
FULWOOD, a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Preston railway, 1½ mile N of Preston. It has a station on the railway; and its post town is Preston. Acres, 2,077. Real property, £6,218. Pop. in 1851, 1,748; in 1861, 2,313. Houses, 172. This was part of the ancient royal forest of Fulwood, now enclosed; and Preston race-ground was part of it. Extensive barracks are here. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, not reported. Patron, the Vicar of L. The church is recent.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Preston library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Fulwood.
| Symonds Rd United Reformed, Fulwood |
The Register Office covering the Fulwood area is Preston and South Ribble
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"FULWOOD, a township in the parish of Lancaster, hundred of Amounderness, county palatine Lancaster, 2 miles N. of Preston, and 20 S. of Lancaster. The district of Freehold Park and the hamlet of Cadley are included in this township Here are extensive barracks, occupying, with the grounds attached, nearly 30 acres."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Fulwood to another place.
In 1835 Fulwood was a township in the parish of Lancaster.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD550326 (Lat/Lon: 53.788005, -2.685148), Fulwood which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Fulwood was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.