St Anne, Aigburth, Church of England
The church has/had a graveyard. Few burials have been carried out in the graveyard, none since 1943, but cremated remains have been interred or scattered.
It was founded in 1837.
The church was built in 1836/7 in what was largely open country, and at first was a chapelry in the ancient parish of Childwall. The founders were four merchants who had recently moved from the growing town of Liverpool and who saw the need for another place of worship, contributing to the cost of the building. As the population grew, the church was enlarged in 1853/4 and in 1913/4. Its own parish boundaries were adjusted as neighbouring parishes were formed later in the 19th century.
Whilst every effort has been made to record exact details of record office and library holdings you are recommended to check with them before visiting to ensure that they do hold the records and years you wish to examine. Similarly check with transcript publishers to ensure they cover the records and years you require before making a purchase.
The completed volumes of parish registers have been deposited at Liverpool Record Office [ref 283 AIG]; some are on microfilm.
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)