Hide
Great Heaton
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
HEATON (Great), a township in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; on the river Irk, 4 miles N by W of Manchester. It was anciently known as Heaton-Reddish; and it includes the hamlet of Lands-End. Acres, 866. Real property, £2, 508. Pop., 159. Houses, 34. The manor belonged to the Langleys, and passed to the Reddishes, the Cokes, and the Drinkwaterses. Most of the land, with Heaton House, belongs now to the Earl of Wilton. Heaton House is a modern edifice, in the Ionic style; and stands in a well wooded park, about 5 miles in circuit
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Great Heaton.
The Register Office covering the Great Heaton area is Manchester.
Old pictures of Heaton Park.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"GREAT HEATON, a township in the parish of Prestwich, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.W. of Manchester. Races are held annually at Heaton Park.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Great Heaton to another place.
In 1835 Great Heaton was a township in the parish of Prestwich.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD833046 (Lat/Lon: 53.537646, -2.253651), Great Heaton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Great Heaton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.