HAMBLETON, a township-chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 3 miles NE of Poulton r. station, and 7½ WSW of Garstang. Post town, Great Eccleston, under Garstang. Acres, 1,603; of which 280 are water. Real property, £1,493. Pop., 366. Houses, 88. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to J. B. Weld, Esq. A fine bridge over the Wyre here was erected in 1864. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £102. Patron, the Vicar of Kirkham. The church was rebuilt in 1709. There is a national school, with £8 from endowment.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Fleetwood library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hambleton.
The Register Office covering the Hambleton area is Lancaster.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hambleton to another place.
"HAMBLETON, a township and chapelry in the parish of Kirkham, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 3 miles N.E. of Poulton-le-Fylde, and 7½ S.W. of Garstang. It is situated on the northern bank of the navigable river Wyre, which is here 500 yards in breadth, and crossed by a ferry to Poulton, called Shard Ferry. The land is nearly evenly divided between arable and pasture, with a very small portion of woodland. The village is small, and wholly agricultural. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £102, in the patronage of the Vicar of Kirkham. The church is a small plain structure, built in 1768. There is a National school with a small endowment, also a Sunday-school. Joseph Weld, Esq., is lord of the manor."
You can see the administrative areas in which Hambleton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Hambleton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD374424 (Lat/Lon: 53.873845, -2.954244), Hambleton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)