CHARNOCK-HEATH, a township in Standish parish, Lancashire; on the Bolton and Preston railway, at Adlington station, 2½ miles SE by S of Chorley. Acres, 1,596. Real property, £4,207; of which £450 are in mines, and £280 in quarries. Pop., 772. Houses, 150. There are brickworks and a cotton-mill.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heath Charnock.
The Register Office covering the Heath Charnock area is Chorley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Heath Charnock to another place.
"HEATH CHARNOCK, a township in the parish of Standish, hundred of Leyland, in the county of Lancaster, 2 miles S.E. of Chorley."
In 1835 Heath Charnock was a township in the parish of Standish.
You can see the administrative areas in which Heath Charnock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Heath Charnock and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD608158 (Lat/Lon: 53.637342, -2.59492), Heath Charnock which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)