HEATON, a township in Deane parish, Lancashire; on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2 miles WNW of Bolton. Acres, 1,630. Real property, £4,542; of which £109 are in mines and £250 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 826; in 1861, 955. Houses, 180. The manor belonged to the Heaton family in the time of Edward III. Coal, building stone, and slate flags abound.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heaton.
The Register Office covering the Heaton area is Bolton.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Heaton to another place.
"HEATON, a township in the parish of Deane, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 3 miles N.W. of Great Bolton. The village, which is considerable, is situated near the line of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway. This township abounds in coal, slate, and stone."
In 1835 Heaton was a township in the parish of Deane.
You can see the administrative areas in which Heaton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Heaton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD683102 (Lat/Lon: 53.587468, -2.47974), Heaton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)