Hide
Heaton with Oxcliffe
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
HEATON, a township and a sub-district in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township is in Overton chapelry, Lancaster parish; lies on the river Lune, 2½ miles SW of Lancaster; includes the hamlet of Oxcliffe; and bears the name of Heaton-with-Oxcliffe. Acres, 1,977. Real property, £2,609. Pop., 165. Houses, 22. -- The sub-district includes three other townships of Lancaster parish, and all Heysham parish. Acres, 12,865. Pop., 3,455. Houses, 670.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heaton with Oxcliffe.
The Register Office covering the Heaton with Oxcliffe area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"OXCLIFFE, a hamlet in the parish of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, county Lancaster, 2 miles W. of Lancaster. It is situated on the river Lune, and is joined with Heaton to form a township."
"HEATON-WITH-OXCLIFFE, a township in the parish of Lancaster, county Lancaster, 3 miles S.W. of Lancaster. The village, which is small, is situated on the bank of the river Lune."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Heaton with Oxcliffe to another place.
In 1835 Heaton with Oxcliffe was a township in the parish of Lancaster.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View maps of Heaton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD445613 (Lat/Lon: 54.044847, -2.849166), Heaton with Oxcliffe which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heaton with Oxcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.