Hide
Holleth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
HOLLETH, a township in Garstang and Cockerham parishes, Lancashire; on the Preston and Lancaster canal, 4¼ miles N of Garstang. Acres, 354. Real property, £459. Pop., 30. Houses, 5.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Holleth.
The Register Office covering the Holleth area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"HOLLETH, a township chiefly in the parish of Garstang, but partly in that of Cockerham, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 4 miles N. of Garstang, its post town. It is situated on the Preston and Lancashire canal."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Holleth to another place.
In 1835 Holleth was a township in the parish of Garstang.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View maps of Holleth and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD480525 (Lat/Lon: 53.966376, -2.79411), Holleth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Holleth was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.