"HOPWOOD, a township in Middleton parish, Lancashire; on the Manchester and Leeds railway, and the Rochdale canal, 1 mile N of Middleton. It includes the villages of Birch and Gooden. Acres, 2,043. Real property, £10,822; of which £2,200 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 1,575; in 1861, 2,281. Houses, 450. The increase of pop. was caused by the erection of cotton mills. Hopwood Hall is a mansion of the 14th century, situated in a well wooded park; belonged, at its origin, to the Hopwoods; passed, early in the 18th century, to Edward Gregge, Esq.; and belongs now to Captain E. J. Gregge Hopwood. Many cotton mills, and an extensive iron foundry are at Gooden; and a national school is at Birch."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Hopwood.
The Register Office covering the Hopwood area is Rochdale.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hopwood to another place.
"HOPWOOD, a township in the parish of Middleton, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 4 miles S.E. of Bury, and 1 mile from Middleton. It is situated on the Rochdale canal. The township produces a good supply of excellent coal. Hopwood Hall, an ancient mansion, situated in a well wooded park, is the principal residence."
"BIRCH, a chapelry in the parish of Middleton, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, not far from Middleton. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £150, in the gift of the Rector of Middleton. The church, erected in 1828, is dedicated to St. Mary."
In 1835 Hopwood was a township in the parish of Middleton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Hopwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Hopwood and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD866089 (Lat/Lon: 53.576847, -2.203821), Hopwood which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)