HUNCOAT, a village and a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The village stands on a risingground, adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, 1½ mile NE by E of Accrington; and has a station on the railway, and chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans. The township comprises 960 acres. Real property, £2,336; of which £50 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 598; in 1861, 839. Houses, 154. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of cotton spinning. The Accrington cemetery and the reservoir of the Accrington waterworks are on the border.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Accrington library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Huncoat.
The Register Office covering the Huncoat area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Huncoat to another place.
"HUNCOAT, a township in the parish of Whalley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, county Lancaster, 4 miles S.W. of Burnley, 1½ mile from Accrington, and 7 miles from Blackburn. It is astation on the East Lancashire railway. The village is situated on gently rising ground, on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and consists of a few scattered farmhouses and cottages. The Accrington reservoir is situated on the borders of this township. The Wesleyans and Independents have each a chapel."
You can see the administrative areas in which Huncoat has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Huncoat and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD779301 (Lat/Lon: 53.767131, -2.336944), Huncoat which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)