Levenshulme, township with ry. sta., Manchester par., SE. Lancashire, 3 miles SE. of Manchester, 606 ac., pop. 3557; P.O., T.O.; is a local government district, and shares in the industries of Manchester.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Levenshulme.
|St Andrew, Levenshulme, Church of England|
|St Mark, Levenshulme. Church of England|
|St Peter, Levenshulme, Church of England|
|Stockport Road Congregational, Levenshulme|
|Zion Congregational, Levenshulme|
|Alma Park United Methodist Free Church, Levenshulme|
|Chapel Street Wesleyan Methodist, Levenshulme|
|Cromwell Grove, Free Methodist, Levenshulme|
|Cromwell Grove, Primitive Methodist, Levenshulme|
|Wesley St, Levenshulme, Wesleyan Methodist|
The Register Office covering the Levenshulme area is Manchester.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Levenshulme to another place.
"LEVENSHULME, a township in the parish of Manchester, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 3 miles S.E. of Manchester, its post town. It is a station on the London and North-Western railway. The village, which is large, is situated on the high road between Manchester and Buxton. There are two cotton mills and extensive print and bleach works. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. There is no church, Divine service being performed in the National school-room, which is licensed for that purpose. The Wesleyans and Roman Catholics have each a chapel. There is a convent in Alma Park."
You can see the administrative areas in which Levenshulme has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Levenshulme and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ877940 (Lat/Lon: 53.442182, -2.186247), Levenshulme which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)