Bolton.-- or Bolton-le-Moors, par., mun. and parl. bor., and manufacturing town, SE. Lancashire, on river Croal, 11 miles NW. of Manchester and 194 miles NW. of London by rail -- par., 35,406 ac. (of which 289 ac. are water), pop. 124,763; mun. bor., 2404 ac., pop. 105,414; parl. bor., 2525 ac., pop. 108,963; 4 Banks, 7 newspapers. Market-days. Monday and Saturday. The town, which is divided by the river Croal into Great and Little Bolton, is one of the oldest seats of the cotton mfr., its staple industry; about 26,000 tons of raw material are manufactured annually into plain and fancy cotton goods. It has extensive bleaching, chemical, and engineering works, foundries, papermills, &c. Numerous collieries are in the neighbourhood. The bor. returns 2 members to Parliament.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Bolton.
|Eden St, Baptist, Astley Bridge|
|Eden St Cemetery, Astley Bridge|
|Seymour Rd Methodist, Astley Bridge|
|Holy Infant and St Anthony, Astley Bridge, Roman Catholic|
The Register Office covering the Little Bolton area is Bolton.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Bolton to another place.
"EAGLEY, a village in the chapelry of Little Bolton and parish of Bolton le Moors, county palatine Lancaster, 1 mile N. of Bolton."
In 1835 Little Bolton was a township in the parish of Bolton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Little Bolton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
A description of Little Bolton in the 19th century.
View maps of Little Bolton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD707117 (Lat/Lon: 53.601133, -2.443787), Little Bolton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)