HEATON (LITTLE), a township in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; contiguous to Great Heaton, 5 miles N of Manchester. It was called, till about a century ago, Heaton-Fallowfield. Acres, 509. Real property, £1,915. Pop., 838. Houses, 161. The manor belonged to the Hollands, and passed to the Egertons. About one half of the property belongs now to the Earl of Wilton. A farm house, called Old Hall, occupies the site of Old Heaton Hall. There is a national school.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Heaton.
The Register Office covering the Little Heaton area is Manchester.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Heaton to another place.
"LITTLE HEATON, a township in the parish of Prestwich, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 5 miles N. of Manchester. It formerly belonged to the Hollands of Denton, from whom it passed to the Egertons. The village is considerable, many of the inhabitants being engaged in the bleach-works, The principal residence is Heaton Hall, a seat of the Earl of Wilton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Little Heaton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Little Heaton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD841058 (Lat/Lon: 53.548521, -2.242161), Little Heaton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)