Hoole, Little, and Hoole, Much, 2 townships, Hoole par., N. Lancashire - L. H., 1223 ac. (22 water), pop. 440; M. H., 1776 ac. (30 water), pop. 581.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887
Local studies information is held at Leyland library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Little Hoole.
The Register Office covering the Little Hoole area is Preston and South Ribble
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Hoole to another place.
"LITTLE HOOLE, a township in the parish of Hoole, hundred of Leyland, county Lancaster, 6 miles from Preston, and 2 from the parish church of Hoole. Here are some extensive brick and tile works, also a considerable trade is done in the manufacturing of cotton, giving employment to a large portion of the inhabitants. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship.
In 1835 Little Hoole was a township in the parish of Hoole.
You can see the administrative areas in which Little Hoole has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Little Hoole Moss and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD479240 (Lat/Lon: 53.709513, -2.790881), Little Hoole which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)