DARWEN (Lower), a township and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Blackburn and Bolton railway, 2 miles S by E of Blackburn; and has a post office under Blackburn, and a r. station. Acres, 2, 490. Real property, £10,322. Pop., 3,301. Houses, 623. There are cotton-mills, extensive paper-works, and some other manufactories. The chapelry was constituted in 1842. Pop. 2,081. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, £150. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1830, at a cost of £5,491. There are a Wesleyan chapel and three public schools.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Darwen library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lower Darwen.
|St Bartholomew Church of England, Ewood|
|St Bartholomew, Ewood, Church of England|
|St James Church of England, Lower Darwen|
|Sandy Lane, Lower Darwen, Congregational|
The Register Office covering the Lower Darwen area is Blackburn.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lower Darwen to another place.
"LOWER DARWEN, a township in the parish of Blackburn, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county of Lancaster 2½ miles S.E. of Blackburn. The living is a perpetual curacy- in the diocese of Manchester, value £150 in the patronage of the vicar. A chapel was erected by the Parliamentary Commissioners in 1829, at the cost of £5,500.
You can see the administrative areas in which Lower Darwen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Lower Darwen and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD692256 (Lat/Lon: 53.726286, -2.468496), Lower Darwen which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)