MAWDESLEY, a township and a chapelry in Croston parish, Lancashire. The township lies on a branch of the river Douglas, 2 miles E by S of Rufford r. station, and 6 WSW of Chorley. Acres, 2,887. Real property, £5,364. Pop., 912. Houses, 169. The manor belongs to Sir Thomas Hesketh, Bart., and John R. De Trafford, Esq. Mawdesley Hall is an ancient mansion, on a sandstone rock; was formerly the seat of the Mawdesley family; and is now the residence of P. Blundell, Esq. The chapelry is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1843. Post-town, Ormskirk. Pop., 1,189. Houses, 217. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £165. * Patron, the Rector of Croston. The church was built in 1840; is in the early English style; and consists of nave only, with tower and small spire. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics, a national school, a free school, and charities £4. The R. Catholic chapel was built in 1830; is a handsome edifice, with 500 sittings; and has attached to it a large burying-ground.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Mawdesley.
The Register Office covering the Mawdesley area is Chorley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mawdesley to another place.
"MAWDESLEY, a township in the parish of Croston, hundred of Leyland, county Lancaster, 7 miles from Ormskirk, its post town, 8 W. by S. of Chorley, and 2 from the Rufford station on the East Lancashire railway. The village, which is small, is situated on a branch of the river Douglas, and is wholly agricultural. The soil consists of stiff clay. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £150, in the patronage of the Rector of Croston. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a stone structure built in 1840. It has a small spired tower containing one bell. There is a National school for both sexes, in, which a Sunday-school is held. There are schools and places of worship for he Roman Catholics and Wesleyan Methodists. Mawexley Hall, still the principal residence, was formerly the family seat of the Mawdesleys. It is situated on a rock of red sandstone. Courts leet and baron are held annually at Michaelmas by Sir Thomas Hesketh, Bart., and John Randolphus de Trafford, Esq., who are the lords of the manor and principal landowners."
You can see the administrative areas in which Mawdesley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Mawdesley and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD491155 (Lat/Lon: 53.633385, -2.771978), Mawdesley which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)