WOOLTON, a village and a chapelry in Much-Woolton township, Childwall parish, Lancashire. The vi1lage stands 2 miles NNE of Garston r. station, and 5 SE of Liverpool; was anciently called Wolveton; comprises several streets; and has a post-office under Liverpool, a police station, and a mechanics' institution. The chapelry was constituted in 1828. Pop. in 1861, 3,538. Houses, 687. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300. Patron, the Vicar of Childwall. The church was built in 1826. There are an Independent chapel of 1864, a Wesleyan chapel of 1834, a Unitarian chapel of about the end of the 16th century, a Roman Catholic chapel of 1861, national schools, a British school, and a Roman Catholic school.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Much Woolton.
|High Street Congregational, Much Woolton|
|Springwood Avenue, Crematorium, Woolton|
|St Mary Much Woolton, Roman Catholic,|
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Much Woolton to another place.
"MUCH-WOOLTON, a chapelry in the parish of Childwall, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 6½ miles S.E. of Liverpool, its post town. The village, which is extensive, contains numerous streets well lighted with gas. Much-Woolton, anciently called Wolveton, belonged to the Norris, Brettargh, Ireland, and Lathom families. Stone is quarried here to a great extent. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester, value £220, in the patronage of the Vicar of Childwall. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a modern stone structure. There are National schools for both sexes. Woolton Hall, the principal residence, is situated in a commanding position. The Marquis of Salisbury is lord of the manor. An annual wake is held at Woolton Green on Midsummer-day."
In 1835 Much Woolton was a township in the parish of Childwall.
You can see the administrative areas in which Much Woolton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Much Woolton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ425864 (Lat/Lon: 53.371211, -2.866074), Much Woolton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)