Hide
Newsham
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
NEWSHAM, a hamlet in Goosnargh chapelry, Kirkham parish, Lancashire; 6½ miles N of Preston. Pop., 54. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Preston library.
| St Mary Roman Catholic, Newsham |
Details about the census records, and indexes for Newsham.
| St Mary Roman Catholic, Newsham |
The Register Office covering the Newsham area is Preston.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"NEWSHAM, a hamlet in the parish of Kirkham, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 5 miles N.W. of Preston."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newsham to another place.
In 1835 Newsham was a township in the parish of St Michaels on Wyre.
View maps of Newsham and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD511359 (Lat/Lon: 53.817362, -2.743493), Newsham which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newsham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.