This is the Pendleton near Clitheroe. There is another Pendleton in Salford.
"PENDLETON, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; under Pendle hill, 2½ miles S S E of Clitheroe r.station. Acres, 2,800. Real property, £4,585. Pop.in 1851, 1,308; in 1861, 1,446. Houses, 298. The bulk of the population is at Sabden-Bridge. Standen Hallis the seat of J. T. W. Aspinall, Esq. There are a chapel of ease, an Independent chapel, and a national school."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pendleton.
The Register Office covering the Pendleton area is Ribble Valley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pendleton to another place.
"PENDLETON, a township and chapelry in the parish of Whalley, higher division of Blackburn hundred, county Lancaster, 2 miles S. of Clitheroe. The township, which is of irregular form, is situated near the rivers Calder and Ribble, under Pendle Hill, which is 1,803 feet in height. The township includes a large portion of the village of Sabden Bridge, at which place the greater part of the inhabitants reside, and are employed at an extensive calicoprinting establishment. The soil consists of clay and a light loam, with a rocky subsoil. The Manchester and Bolton railway passes through the township. The Duke of Buccleuch is lord of the manor."
"SABDEN, a hamlet in the township of Pendleton, parish of Whalley, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.W. of Burnley, and 3 S.E. of Clitheroe. It is situated under Pendle Hill, and contains Sheriff's print-works."
In 1835 Pendleton was a township in the parish of Whalley.
You can see the administrative areas in which Pendleton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Pendleton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD761388 (Lat/Lon: 53.844877, -2.364305), Pendleton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)