Poulton with Fearnhead
POULTON-WITH-FEARNHEAD, a township in Warrington parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles N E of Warrington r. station. Acres, 1, 233. Real property, £4,087. Pop., 672. Houses, 131. The church of Padgate chapelry, a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed national school are here.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Warrington library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Poulton with Fearnhead.
The Register Office covering the Poulton with Fearnhead area is Warrington.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Poulton with Fearnhead to another place.
"POULTON-WITH-FEARNHEAD, (or Padgate), a township in the parish of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 2½ miles N.E. of Warrington, its railway station and post town. The village, which is small, is situated on the old road from Warrington to Bolton, and is chiefly agricultural. The soil is in parts alluvial on sand, and in others clayey. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester, value £120. The church, dedicated to Christ, is new, containing one bell. There is a National school for both sexes, which has an endowment. The Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics have each a place of worship. There is a Sunday-school."
"PADGATE, a village in the parish of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 2 miles from Warrington. It is situated near the river Mersey and the Lankey and Bridgwater canals, and has been recently formed into a separate ecclesiastical district. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester, value £120, in the patronage of the Rector of Warrington. The church is a modern structure."
"FEARNHEAD, a township in the parish of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, county palatine Lancaster, 2 miles N.E. of Warrington. This is united with the township of Poulton."
In 1835 Poulton with Fearnhead was a township in the parish of Warrington.
You can see the administrative areas in which Poulton with Fearnhead has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Fernhead and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ632899 (Lat/Lon: 53.404786, -2.554439), Poulton with Fearnhead which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)