Hide
Samlesbury
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
SAMLESBURY, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, 2 miles E S E of Fulwood r. station, and 3¾ E by N of Preston. It contains part of Mellor-Brook hamlet, which has a post-office under Blackburn, and Roach hamlet, which has a cotton-mill. Acres, 4,270. Real property, £6,951; of which £10 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,435; in 1861, 1,215. Houses, 236. S. Old Hall is the seat of J. Harrison, Esq.; was erected in 1530, by Sir T. Southworth; was moated till the formation of the new road from Preston to Blackburn; contains a great hall, constructed of Massive and elegantly carved oak timbers; and was restored and finely embellished in 1864. Roach Hall dates from 1675, was long the residence of the Hoghton family, and is now a farm-house. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is ancient. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities £35.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Samlesbury.
| Samlesbury, Wesleyan Methodist |
| St Mary and St John Southworth, Samlesbury, Roman Catholic |
The Register Office covering the Samlesbury area is Preston & South Ribble.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"SAMLESBURY, a township and chapelry in the parish of Blackburn, lower division of Blackburn hundred, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.E. of Preston. The village, which is considerable, is situated betwixt the rivers Ribble and Darwen. The land is chiefly meadow and pasture, with a small proportion of arable and woodland. The soil is chiefly of a clayey character. Some of the inhabitants are employed in the cotton-mill. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £150, in the patronage of the Vicar of Blackburn. The church, dedicated to St. Leonard, is an ancient stone structure with a bell turret. The parochial charities produce about £35 per annum. There is a National school for both sexes. The Roman Catholics have a place of worship. In the vicinity is the old mansion of the Southworths, now occupied as a ladies', boarding-school."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Samlesbury to another place.
In 1835 Samlesbury was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.
View maps of Samlesbury and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD609300 (Lat/Lon: 53.76485, -2.594501), Samlesbury which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Samlesbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.