SWINTON, a chapelry, with a village, in Eccles parish, Lancashire; near Patricroft r. station, 4½ mile WNW of Manchester. It has a post-office under Manchester. Pop., about 6,000. There are several good residences. Cotton manufacture and brick-making are carried on. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £230.* Patron, the Vicar of Eccles. The church is plain. There are Wesleyan chapels, a national school, and the Manchester industrial schools.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Salford library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Swinton.
|Cemetery Rd Cemetery, Swinton|
|Jane Lane, Swinton, Unitarian|
|St Charles, Swinton, Roman Catholic|
|St Mary of the Immaculate Conception, Swinton, Roman Catholic|
The Register Office covering the Swinton area is Salford.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Swinton to another place.
"SWINTON, a hamlet and chapelry in the township of Worsley and parish of Eccles, county Lancaster, 4½ miles N.W. of Manchester, its post town, and 6 E. of Bolton. The village is situated on the main road to Manchester. Many of the inhabitants are employed in the cotton mills, collieries, and brick kilns. The Manchester training school is situated here. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £126, in the patronage of the Vicar of Eccles The church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a cruciform structure, built in 1791. There is a National school for both sexes, at which a Sunday-school is also held. The Wesleyans, Independents, and Unitarians have chapels."
You can see the administrative areas in which Swinton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Swinton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD773010 (Lat/Lon: 53.504963, -2.344122), Swinton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)