THORNHAM, a township in Middleton parish, Lancashire; 3½ miles S by W of Rochdale. Acres, 1,998. Real property, £8,018; of which £1,253 are in mines, and £15 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 1,510; in 1861, 2,027. Houses, 379. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton-mills. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Thornham.
The Register Office covering the Thornham area is Rochdale.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Thornham to another place.
"THORNHAM, a township in the parish of Middleton, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 2 miles N.W. of Oldham, and 3½ S.W. of Rochdale. It is situated near the Manchester and Leeds railway. The township is the largest in the parish of Middleton, and contains some coal mines."
In 1835 Thornham was a township in the parish of Middleton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Thornham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Thornham Fold and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD900091 (Lat/Lon: 53.578586, -2.152), Thornham which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)