TORVER, a township-chapelry in Ulverston parish, Lancashire; on the Coniston railway, 2 miles SW of Coniston. It has a post-office under Windermere, and a r. station. Acres, 3,670. Real property, £1,180. Pop., 194. Houses, 42. The manor belongs to the Queen. The scenery is highly picturesque. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £113. Patron, the Rev. A. Peache. The church was rebuilt in 1848. There are an endowed school with £8 a year, and charities £7.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.
The following books contain useful information about the history of Torver and the surrounding area.
- John Dawson, 'Torver', published by Phillimore & Co., 1985.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Torver.
The Register Office covering the Torver area is Ulverston.
Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Torver to another place.
"TORVER, a township in the parish of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, county Lancaster, 11 miles N. of Ulverston, and 6 S.W. of Hawkeshead. It is a station on the Coniston branch of the Ulverston and Lancaster and Furness Junction railway. The village is situated near Coniston Water. The land is rocky and barren. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Carlisle, value £59. The parochial charities produce about £15, of which £8 go to the school founded by John Fleming in 1777. The manor is royal."
In 1835 Torver was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Ulverston.
You can see the administrative areas in which Torver has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
The history of Torver as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.
View maps of Torver and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD280948 (Lat/Lon: 54.343888, -3.109136), Torver which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)