Hide
Twiston
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
TWISTON, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles E by N of Clitheroe. Acres, 849. Real property, £872. Pop., 141. Houses, 34.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Twiston.
The Register Office covering the Twiston area is Ribble Valley.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"TWISTON, a township in the parish of Whalley, higher division of Blackburn hundred, county Lancaster, 5 miles N.E. of Clitheroe railway station, under Pendle Hill. Many of the inhabitants are engaged in the cotton-mills. The Duke of Buccleuch is lord of the manor."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Twiston to another place.
In 1835 Twiston was a township in the parish of Whalley.
View maps of Twiston and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD817436 (Lat/Lon: 53.888554, -2.280202), Twiston which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Twiston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.