Hide
Ulnes Walton
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
ULNES-WALTON, a township in Croston parish, Lancashire; 5½ miles W by N of Chorley. Acres, 2,087. Real property, £3,774. Pop., 488. Houses, 91. Traces of a monastic house are at Gradwells. Fruit is extensively grown for the market.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ulnes Walton.
The Register Office covering the Ulnes Walton area is Chorley.
David Batty has some pictures of Ulnes Walton.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"ULNES-WALTON, a township in the parish of Croston, hundred of Leyland, county Lancaster, 5½ miles N.W. of Chorley, and 1 mile from Cocker-Bar station on the East Lancashire line of railway. The village is situated near the river Lostock. At a farm in the neighbourhood are traces of a religious house."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ulnes Walton to another place.
In 1835 Ulnes Walton was a township in the parish of Croston.
View maps of Ulnes Walton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD509203 (Lat/Lon: 53.677068, -2.745294), Ulnes Walton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ulnes Walton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
- Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society - Chorley Branch
- Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society - Preston Branch
- Lancashire Parish Register Society
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.