ALLITHWAITE, two townships and a chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire. The townships are Lower and Upper, and lie near Cark r. station. Acres, 2,360 and 3,710. Real property, £5,142 and £3,123. Pop., 933 and 729. Houses, 190 and 162. The chapelry was formed in 1865. Pop., 480. The living is a p. curacy. Value, £150. Patron, the Bishop of Carlisle
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Upper Allithwaite.
The Register Office covering the Upper Allithwaite area is Ulverston.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Upper Allithwaite to another place.
"LINDALE, a chapelry and post-office village in the parish of Cartmel, county Lancaster, 3 miles from Ulverston, and 4 N.E. of Cartmel. It is a station on the Furness, Ulverston, and Lancaster railway. It is situated on the river Kent. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Carlisle, value 280. The church has been rebuilt, and contains 115 free sittings. There is a National school for boys."
"UPPER ALLITHWAITE, (and Lower Allithwaite) townships in the parish of Cartmel, hundred of Lonsdale, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 2 miles to the N.E. of Cartmel. Allithwaite Lodge is the principal seat.
In 1835 Upper Allithwaite was a township in the parish of Cartmel.
You can see the administrative areas in which Upper Allithwaite has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Upper Allithwaite and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD411830 (Lat/Lon: 54.239447, -2.904945), Upper Allithwaite which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)