URSWICK, a parish, with four townships, in Ulverston district, Lancashire; 3 miles SSW of Ulverston r. station. Post town, Ulverston. Acres, 4,100. Real property, £8,650; of which £400 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 891; in 1861, 1,080. Houses, 215. The property is much subdivided. Roman coins have been found. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £300. Patrons, the Landowners. The church was recently restored. The p. curacy of Bardsea is a separate benefice. There are an endowed school with £15 a year, and charities £23.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Urswick.
|Holy Trinity, Bardsea, Church of England|
|St Mary the Virgin and St Michael, Urswick, Church of England|
|Long Lane Congregational, Stainton|
|Tarn Close Church of Christ, Great Urswick|
|Burial ground Society of Friends, Sunbrick|
The Register Office covering the Urswick area is Ulverston.
Urswick parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Urswick to another place.
"URSWICK, a parish in the hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, county Lancaster, 3 miles S.W. of Ulverston, its post town, and the same distance from Dalton. The parish is of large extent, and is divided into four townships-Much Urswick, Little Urswick, Bardsea, and Adgarley with Stainton. The village consists of the two hamlets of Great and Little Urswick. In the vicinity are traces of camps and forts, near which several Roman coins and a brass tripod were discovered. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle, value £250, in the patronage of the landowners. The church has been recently restored. There is also a district church at Bardsea, the living of which is a perpetual curacy, value £100. The parochial charities produce about £38 per annum, of which £15 go to Marshall's free grammar school."
"STAINTON, a township in the parish of Urswick, hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, county Lancaster, 2 miles S.E. of Dalton-in-Furness."
"BARDSEA, a chapelry and township in the parish of Urswick, hundred of Lonsdale, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 5 miles to the E. of Dalton. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Carlisle, value £100, in the patronage of the Rev. T. E. Petty. It has a school, with an endowment of £8 a year, founded in 1781. The chief residence is Bardsea Hall."
"ADGARLEY, a township in the parish of Urswick, hundred of Lonsdale, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles to the S.W. of Ulverston. It is situated near the coast of Morecombe Bay."
You can see the administrative areas in which Urswick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Urswick and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD279732 (Lat/Lon: 54.149919, -3.105982), Urswick which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)