Hide
Wardleworth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
WARDLEWORTH, a township in Rochdale parish, Lancashire; including large part of Rochdale borough. Real property, £61,924; of which £1,060 are in mines, and £559 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 14,103; in 1861, 17,840. Houses, 3,534. Pop. of the R. borough part in 1861, 16,531. Houses, 3,272. See Hundersfield.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wardleworth.
The Register Office covering the Wardleworth area is Rochdale.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"WARDLEWORTH, a township in the parish of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, county Lancaster, 1 mile N. of Rochdale, of which it forms part, containing the town prison, a poorhouse, &c."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Wardleworth to another place.
In 1835 Wardleworth was a township in the parish of Rochdale.
View maps of Wardleworth and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD900147 (Lat/Lon: 53.628801, -2.1532), Wardleworth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wardleworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.