This is the Warton near Carnforth. There is also another Warton near Kirkham.
"WARTON, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township lies near Morecambe bay, the Kendal canal, and Carnforth r. station, 6½ miles N by E of Lancaster; and includes Lindeth hamlet. Acres, 2,924. Real property, £3,754. Pop., 581. Houses, 131. The parish contains also Carnforth township, which has a post-office under Lancaster; contains likewise 5 other townships; and comprises 11,141 acres. Pop., 2,161. Houses, 443. The property is much subdivided. Hyning Hall, Hazlemount, Linden Hall, Prospect House, Leighton Hall, and Morecambe Lodge are chief residences. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Worcester. The church was repaired in 1850, and has seven memorial windows. The p. curacies of Silverdale and Yealand-Conyers are separate benefices. Two school-houses, at Carnforth and Priest-Hutton, are used as chapels of ease There are chapels for Quakers and Roman Catholics. The sub-district includes also three townships of Bolton-le-Sands, and comprises 17,932 acres. Pop., 3,562. Houses, 732."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Warton.
The Register Office covering the Warton area is Lancaster.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Warton to another place.
"WARTON, a parish in the hundred of Lonsdale, county Lancaster, 7 miles N.E. of Lancaster, its post town, and 1 mile N. of Carnforth railway station on the Carlisle railway. It is situated on the small river Keir, near the Kendal and Lancaster canal, and at a short distance to the E. of Morecambe Bay. Thepar., comprising above 22,000 acres, contains the townships of Carnforth, Borwick, Priest Hutton, Silverdale, Warton with Lindeth, Yealand Conyers, and Yealand-Redmayne. Copper exists at Warton Crag, but is not now worked. The soil is a thin earth, resting on layers of gravel in parts, but chiefly on limestone. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester, value £187, in the patronage of the dean and chapter. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, has a painted E. window, and was restored in 1850. The register dates from 1575. There are also the district churches of Silverdale and Yealand Conyers, the livings of which are perpetual curacies, value £80 and £57 each. There area free grammar school, an hospital founded and endowed by Archbishop Hutton in 1594, and an infant school. There are remains of a Roman encampment."
"LINDETH, (or Lindreth), a hamlet in the parish of Warton, hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, county Lancaster, 8 miles N. of Lancaster, and 5 W. of Burton-in-Kendal."
"WARTON-WITH-LINDRITH, a township in the parish of Warton, hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, county Lancaster."
You can see the administrative areas in which Warton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Warton is an ancient parish in the county of Lancashire, situated approximately ten miles north of Lancaster. The exact origins of the church and parish are unknown. It is believed that the church in this parish was established well before the Norman conquest in 1066. The oldest portion of the church is the south wall which is of 14th century origin, though the earliest recorded incumbent dates from 1190.
The parish covers an area in excess of 11000 acres and is predominantly rural. Though in the past, it was an important staging post on the route north. So much so, it was granted a charter for a Wednesday market in about 1200 during the reign of King John. This confirms the economic importance of Warton in those early times.
More recently, Warton has been overshadowed in importance by neighbouring Carnforth, just to the south. Carnforth rose to prominence following the building of the railway station, which was opened in 1846 by the Lancaster and Carlisle Railway Company and was originally just a single platform.
View maps of Warton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD488726 (Lat/Lon: 54.146411, -2.785206), Warton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)