Hide
West Leigh
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
Westleigh.-- township and ry. sta., Leigh par., SW. Lancashire, in town of Leigh, 1883 ac., pop. 7848; P.O. See LEIGH.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for West Leigh.
The Register Office covering the West Leigh area is Wigan and Leigh.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"WESTLEIGH, a township in the parish of Leigh, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 1½ mile N.W. of Leigh, and 11 miles W. of Manchester. The village is a populous suburb of Leigh. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in the muslin and silk manufactories, and in the collieries."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from West Leigh to another place.
In 1835 West Leigh was a township in the parish of Leigh.
View maps of Westleigh and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD643012 (Lat/Lon: 53.506429, -2.539215), West Leigh which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, West Leigh was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.