WHEATLEY-CARR, an extra-parochial tract in Burnley district, Lancashire; 3¼ miles WSW of Colne. Acres, 200. Pop., 46. Houses, 9.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wheatley Carr.
The Register Office covering the Wheatley Carr area is Burnley and Pendle.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Wheatley Carr to another place.
"WHEATLEY-CARR, a township in the parish of Whalley, county Lancaster, 4 miles S.W. of Colne. It is situated on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, near the river Henburn."
In 1835 Wheatley Carr was a township in the parish of Whalley.
You can see the administrative areas in which Wheatley Carr has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Wheatley Carr and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD842380 (Lat/Lon: 53.838304, -2.242059), Wheatley Carr which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)