PLUMPTON-WOOD, a village and a parochial chapelry in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the Lancaster and Preston canal, 1¼ mile S W of Barton r. station, and 4¼ N W by N of Preston. The chapelry also contains the hamlets of Catforth, Eaves, Higher Plumpton, and Lower Bartle; and its post town is Preston. Acres, 4,722. Real property, £9,516. Pop. in 1851, 1,574; in 1861, 1,462. Houses, 292. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to Birley, Esq. P.-W. House, P.-W. Lodge, Swilbrook House, Barnfield House, Hollowforth, and Bartle Hall are chief residences. Extensive tile and drain-pipeworks are at Eaves and Catforth. The living is a p.curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £175.* Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The church is ancient, and was modernised in 1852. There are a Wesleyan chapel, a Primitive Methodist chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with £23 a year, a small workhouse, and charities £24.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Preston library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Woodplumpton.
The Register Office covering the Woodplumpton area is Preston.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Woodplumpton to another place.
"WOODPLUMPTON, a chapelry in the parish of St. Michael-on-Wyre, county Lancaster, 4 miles N.W. of Preston, its post town, and 3 S.W. of Garstang. It is situated on the line of the Lancaster railway and canal, near the river Wyre, the mouth of which forms a harbour. The union poorhouse is situated here. The village, which is considerable, contains many new houses. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £140, in the patronage of the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The parochial charities produce about £37 per annum, of which £23 goes to Catforth school.
In 1835 Woodplumpton was a township in the parish of St. Michaels on Wyre.
You can see the administrative areas in which Woodplumpton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Woodplumpton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD489354 (Lat/Lon: 53.812584, -2.778242), Woodplumpton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)