Woolston and Martincroft
WOOLSTON-WITH-MARTINSCROFT, a township in Warrington parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles E by N of Warrington. Acres, 1,444. Real property, £2,950. Pop., 496. Houses, 97. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Warrington library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Woolston and Martincroft.
The Register Office covering the Woolston and Martincroft area is Warrington.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Woolston and Martincroft to another place.
"WOOLSTON, a township in the parish of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 2½ miles N.E. of Warrington railway station, and 8 S.W. of Leigh. It is a joint township with Martinscroft. The village is situated on the bank of the Mersey, and on the road from Warrington to Manchester. The Roman Catholics and Wesleyans have chapels."
MARTINSCROFT, a township in the parish of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 2 miles N.E. of Warrington. It is a joint township with Woolston."
In 1835 Woolston and Martincroft was a township in the parish of Warrington.
You can see the administrative areas in which Woolston and Martincroft has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Woolston and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ651896 (Lat/Lon: 53.401988, -2.526716), Woolston and Martincroft which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)