Hide

Burton on the Wolds

hide
Hide

Description in 1871:
"BURTON-ON-THE-WOLDS, a township in Prestwold parish, Leicester; 4½ miles ENE of Loughborough. Acres, 1,690. Real property, £3,812. Pop., 441. Houses, 97. Burton Hall here is the seat of the Mundys. There is a Wesleyan chapel."
[John Marius WILSON's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales," 1870-1872]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

  • Despite the lack of an Anglican church, the parish has a Cemetery and a War Memorial with 13 names on it.
     
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Leake sub-district of the Loughborough Registration District.
     
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print.
     
  • Remember, this place was a township until late 1866, so it would be found under Prestwold parish.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2086
1861 R.G. 9 / 2277
1871 R.G. 10 / 3260
1891 R.G. 12 / 2518
topup

Church History

  • The was an Anglican mission church here, subordinate to the church in Prestwold.
     
topup

Church Records

  • Your best bet would be Prestwold parish church records, but check Walton and Barrow on Soar as well.
     
  • There are parish registers available covering 1560 - 1837.
     
  • Phillimores Marriages, volume 8, covers Burton on the Wold for 1560 - 1837.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built in 1846.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Leake sub-district of the Loughborough Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Burton on the Wolds, Leicestershire, is a small village and a parish in the North West Leicestershire area. It lies 117 miles north of London, and about 4 miles due east of Loughborough. To the south lies the city of Leicester. The parish is bordered on the west by the River Soar and covered about 2,584 acres by 1912.

The village is home to a pub, a garage with a shop enclosed and a village hall. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, Burton is on the B676 arterial only 3 miles west of the A46 trunk road.
     
  • Coach service is provided by County Coaches.
     
You can see pictures of Burton on the Wolds which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Burton on the Wolds has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • Burton was used as living quarters for servicemen from Wymenswold airfield during World War II.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Greyhound Inn on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2011.
     
topup

Manors

  • Burton Hall was built around 1780.
     
  • Burton Hall was the residence of Lord Ernest St. MAUR in 1912.
     
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK588211 (Lat/Lon: 52.784284, -1.129628), Burton on the Wolds which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • On 14 November, 1940, during a massive German bombing raid on Coventry, the enemy lost one plane which was a Dornier 17, serial number 2892 shot down by A.A. fire at Preswold Hall, Burton on the Wold. The 4 man crew died and are buried at Loughborough Cemetery.
     
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient township in Prestwold parish in the county of Leicester. It became a Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient East Goscote Hundred in the northern division of the county.
     
  • The parish is in the Charnwood borough council.
     
  • On 1 April, 1965, the Civil Parish was enlarged by 37 acres gained from the Civil Parish of Willoughby on the Wolds.
     
  • It appears that sometime in the 20th century the Civil Parish of Burton on the Wolds joined with the hamlet of Cotes and the Prestwold Civil Parish to form a single parish council. You can contact this Parish Council about community matters, but they are not staffed to assist with family history research.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Loughborough petty session hearings each Wednesday.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Loughborough Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1871 398
1881 356
1891 309
1901 309
1911 293
1921 262
1931 297
topup

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was originally built in 1834 and was rebuilt in 1881 for 128 children. The village has a Primary School on Barrow Road. It appears to be from 1966. The school serves several neighboring villages and hamlets.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST provides a photograph of Burton School on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2011.
     
  • The School website provides no history.