Hide

Coleorton

hide
Hide

Description in 1887:
"Cole Orton, par., N. Leicestershire, 3 miles NE. of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, 1999 ac., pop. 598; P.O., called Coleorton; has coal mines; contains Cole Orton Hall."
[John Bartholomew's "Gazetteer of the British Isles", 1887]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Whitwick subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
     
  • The 1851 census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2271
1871 R.G. 10 / 3250
1891 R.G. 12 / 2512
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church for Coleorton is dedicated to Saint Mary the Virgin.
     
  • The church was built in the 12th century.
     
  • The church spire was struck by lightning in 1839.
     
  • The church was restored in 1851.
     
  • The church tower clock was added in 1878.
     
  • There is a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Flickr.
     
  • The church seats 250.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1611 and are in good condition.
     
  • The church is in the rural deanery of West Akeley.
     
  • The parish also contains a Primitive Methodist chapel and a small Baptist chapel.
     
  • Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the Primitive Methodist church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2006.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Whitwick subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration started in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Coleorton is a village and civil parish in Leicestershire about 25 miles (4 km) east of Ashby de la Zouch and 10 miles west of Loughborough. The parish covers 2,140 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A50 west out of Leicester city to Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Coleorton is just two miles beyond.
     
You can see pictures of Coleorton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Coleorton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • In the 1800s and early 1900s much of the parish was pasturage.
     
  • The parish also was a source of Coal and of some fine pottery.
     
  • Norman HAYWOOD has a photograph of The Angel Inn on Geo-graph, taken in 1955.
     
  • Norman HAYWOOD also has a more modern photograph of The Angel Inn on Geo-graph, taken in March 2006.
     
  • "The BITTERMAN" has a photograph of the George Inn on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2010.
     
  • Ian CALDERWOOD has a photograph of the former Queen's Head Inn on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2016.
     
topup

Manors

  • Coleorton Hall was owned by the BEAUMONT family in 1925, but it was occupied by Mrs. Frances A. SMITH.
     
topup

Maps

  • The national grid reference is SK 4017.
     
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
     
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK404172 (Lat/Lon: 52.750913, -1.4029), Coleorton which are provided by:

topup

Military History

The War Memorial is located at the junction of Ashby Road and Farm Town (just up from the school). It was originally erected in September 1922 in front of Coleorton Alms Houses at the junction of the Loughborough Road (A512) and the Rempstone Road.

During the 1970s the memorial was hit by a lorry and suffered significant damage. It was taken away to be repaired and was relocated some 3 years later in its current position on the Ashby Road.

In September 2010 it was repaired, cleaned and all the wording specially treated.

topup

Military Records

The parish has a Portable Document File of the War Memorial History and the list of names on it,, completed by John MacDonald. You will need Adobe Reader to access this file.

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Leicester county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient West Goscote Hundred in the Loughborough (or Western) division of the county.
     
  • You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT funded to perform family history searches for you.
     
  • Ian CALDERWOOD has a photograph of the Beaumont Center on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2015. Stop in when they are open and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, Coleorton became part of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Poorlaw Union.
     
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Ashby-de-la-Zouch petty session hearings.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 1,069
1821 883
1841 601
1871 654
1901 783
1921 726