Hide

Misterton

hide
Hide

From John Marius WILSON's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72":

"MISTERTON, a parish in Lutterworth district, Leicester; on the river Swift, 1 mile E by S of Lutterworth, 3¼ ENE of Watling-street at the boundary with Warwick, and 4 WNW of Welford and Kilworth r. station. It contains the village of Walcote, and the hamlet of Poultney, the former of which has a post office under Lutterworth. Acres, 3,580. Real property, £7,584. Pop., 554. Houses, 137. The property is divided among a few. Misterton Hall is the seat of Col. T. Arthur. The parish is a meet for the Pytchley hounds. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £870. Patron, J. H. Franks, Esq. The church is very old, in tolerable condition: and has a tower and spire. There are a national school, and charities £32."
Hide

Note Bene: There are at least two other Mistertons in England (one in nearby Nottinghamshire). Make sure that you are researching the correct place.

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Lutterworth sub-district of the Lutterworth Registration District.
     
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 599
1851 H.O. 107 / 2078
1861 R.G. 9 / 2247
1871 R.G. 10 / 3223
1891 R.G. 12 / 2490
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Leonard.
     
  • The church dates back to before 1567.
     
  • The church was restored in 1863.
     
  • The church seats 286.
     
  • NiCK MacNIEL has a photograph of the Church tower on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2002.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1558.
     
  • The church is in the rural deanery of Guthlaxton (third portion).
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Lutterworth sub-district of the Lutterworth Registration District.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Misterton is a village and a civil parish adjoining Lutterworth. The parish covers over 3,880 acres and includes the hamlet of Poultney and the village of Walcote. Walcote village is larger than Misterton village in most census records. The parish is 9 miles north of Rugby.

The village and parish are currently part of the conurbation known as Lutterworth city. If you are planning a visit:

  • The small river Swift passes through the parish. There is a photograph of the River Swift valley.
     
  • A short circular walk linking Walcote and Misterton can be made by following Brook Street and taking the footpath left which joins a track which passes the Misterton Hall and St. Leonards Church. On reaching the main road, turning left onto a cyclepath by the woods of Misterton Park brings you back to Walcote.
     
  • By automobile, take the M1 motorway by Lutterworth and turn off at the A427 trunk road at junction 20, heading east. Misterton will be the first village on the road, followed by Walcote.
     
You can see pictures of Misterton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Misterton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Stephen McKAY has a photograph of the Black Horse Pub. in Walcote on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2018.

Steven FARHAM has a photograph of the Tavern Inn Walcote on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007. The web page author has red that this public House is now closed.

topup

Manors

  • Misterton Hall was the property and residence of Capt. Geoffrey STEWART in 1912. It stands in a small park, with a lake.
     
  • Walcote House was the seat of Capt. Corbett SMITH in 1912.
     
  • Walcote Lodge was the seat of Richard Arnold WATSON in 1912.
     
  • David THOMPSON has a photograph of Walcote Lodge entry gates on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2015.
     
  • "Bikeboy" has a photograph of Misterton Lodge on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP557839 (Lat/Lon: 52.450227, -1.181841), Misterton which are provided by:

topup

Military History

The War Memorial in the church is a large stone memorial with three tablets bearing inscriptions in black (names to either side, inscription in centre), with a soldier and sailor in mourning on far left and right, and a Naval shield below. There is a cross in wreath above, between the hilts of two swords separating the tablets. It was unveiled in December 1920 by General VAUGHAN.  The monument is in memory of the 14 men from the village who perished in World War I.

The inscription on the Misterton memorial is:

These, in the day when heaven was falling,
The hour when earth’s foundations fled,
Obeyed their king and country calling
And did their duty and are dead.

Their shoulders held their skies uplifted;
They stood, and earth’s foundations stay;
The cause of Freedom they defended,
And saved the world for us today.
Dulcet et decorum est
Pro paten mort

In 1925, Lieut.-Col. Gerald Walton HOBSON O.M.G., D.S.O., J.P. resided in Misterton Hall.

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name is often recorded as "Minsterton".
     
topup

Politics & Government

  • The parish is in the ancient Guthlaxton Hundred in the southern division of the county.
     
  • Technically, the parish is "Misterton with Walcote".
     
  • You can contact the local Parish Council at Leicestershire Parish councils regarding civic and political matters, but they are NOT funded to assist with family histoyr searches.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Harborough District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lutterworth petty session hearings every other Thursday.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Lutterworth Poorlaw Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 341
1811 429
1821 539
1831 587
1841 589
1851 589
1901 441
1911 435
1971 391
2001 412
topup

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1857 for 100 children.