Hide

Asgarby

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Adrian S. PYE has a photograph of St. Andrew's churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2017.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 626
1861 R.G. 9 / 2345
1871 R.G. 10 / 3352
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
     
  • The church was restored in 1870.
     
  • The church seats 100.
     
  • The church has a remarkably tall spire for such a small church.
     
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the Church of St. Andrew on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     
  • Here is a photograph St. Andrew's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

 

image
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1640 (one source tells us 1676).
     
  • The Family History Library has the Bishop's Transcripts from 1561 to 1806 on microfilm.
     
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1676 to 1812 and Marriages from 1676 to 1812.
     
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Asgarby is both a parish and a small village about 3 miles east of Sleaford. Ewerby parish lies to the north and Heckington parish to the south. The parish covered about 840 acres in the 1800's. Boughton is a hamlet in Asgarby parish, half a mile north-east of Asgarby village.

The village is small. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Asgarby which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Asgarby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • In 1880, a detached part of Asgarby parish (in the Fens) was annexed to Carrington. In 1885, Asgarby Fen and Carr Dyke Bank were transferred from Asgarby to Howell parish (near Sleaford). You will note that there is a village of Asgarby just west of Howell.
topup

Land & Property

  • In 1882, the Marquis of Bristol was the principal landowner.
     
  • In 1913, the Marquis of Bristol was still the principal landowner.
     
topup

Manors

David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of Asgarby Hall on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.

topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF117453 (Lat/Lon: 52.993393, -0.337265), Asgarby which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

For a photograph of the Asgarby War Memorial plaque in the church and the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old Scandinavian Asgeirr+by, meaning "farmstead of a man named Asgeirr". It appears as Asgerebi in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
topup

Names, Personal

  • White's 1842 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Bryan MILLINGTON and Thomas SNEATH.
     
  • White's 1872 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Rev. Henry ANDERS, John GREEN, Charles SHARPE, Frederick SNEATH, Captain Bruce TOMLINSON.
     
  • White's 1882 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Rev. John GORTON, Charles SHARPE, Frederick J. N. SNEATH and Bruce TOMLINSON.
     
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Rev. Reginald HART-DAVIES, Edward FEATHERSTONE, George GOODSON, James POCKLINGTON, Fredk. J. N. SNEATH and Frederick William SNEATH.
     
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and used to create the new Asgarby and Howell Civil Parish.
     
  • You may contact the local Asgarby and Howell Parish Council regarding civic or politcal issues, but they are NOT staffed to help with family history lookups.
     
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings.
     
  • The parish was entitled to send one poor man to Sleaford Hospital.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 55
1841 119
1871 92
1881 107
1891 76
1911 59
1991 65
topup

Schools

  • There was no school built in the parish. The parish was entitled to send two children who attended school in Ewerby parish, but most children attended school in Kirkby-Laythorpe parish.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.