Hide

Bennington Grange

hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Balderton sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The Family History Library has census records for this parish. See the table below.
     
Census
Year
Piece no. Film / Fiche
1841 H.O. 107 / 615 0438756
1851 H.O. 107 / 2138 0087768
1861 R.G. 9 / 2481 0542977
1871 R.G. 10 / 3544 0839759
1881 R.G. 11 / 337x 1341807
1891 R.G. 12 / 2715 6097825
topup

Church Records

  • There are no church records for Bennington Grange. See Long Bennington parish.
     
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Grantham Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Balderton sub-district of the Newark Registration District in Nottinghamshire.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Bennington Grange is not an ancient parish of Lincolnshire. The parish was established by Queen Victoria in 1858, formerly an extra-parochial portion of Long Bennington parish. There wasn't really a central village as such, but a collection of farms and the ruins of a moated mansion or villa about two miles south of the village of Long Bennington. The parish covered about 270 acres. It has since been amalgamated with Long Bennington for civil purposes.

The moated ruins are reported to have been the farm house of the local Priory. If you are planning a visit:

  • The countryside is very flat. Kate JEWELL has a photograph of the countryside on Geo-graph, taken in 2006.
     
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
     
topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bennington Grange has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The Bennington Grange moated site is listed as an Ancient Monument.

topup

Land & Property

  • In 1871, most of the land in the parish was owned by the Earl of Dysart, J. E. WELBY.
     
  • In 1913, The Earl was still the principal landowner.
     
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK836455 (Lat/Lon: 53.000306, -0.755741), Bennington Grange which are provided by:

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name is from the Old English Beonna+ing+tun, meaning "Farmstead of Beonna".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient extra-parochial area in Lincoln county. It became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1858.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
     
  • The Civil Parish was abolished in April, 1931, and the land amalgamated into Long Bennington Civil Parish.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings every other Saturday.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year  Inhabitants
1871 6
1881 14
1891 9
1901 9
topup

Schools

  • There is no record of a school in Bennington Grange.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.