Calcethorpe

The Library at Louth will prove useful in your research.

• The parish was in the Binbrook sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
   
• The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841 and 1881.
   
• Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

• The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Faith.
   
• St. Faith Church fell into ruin and was disused by 1450.
   
• St. Faith church was demolished and no traces of it remained by 1842.
   
• The parish was amalgamated eclessiastically along with Cadeby (North and South) as it had no church of its own. The inhabitants of the parish used Kelstern and Gayton-le-Wold churches for the most part.

• The parish registers for Calcethorpe are generally included in Kelstern parish records, which dates from 1651.
   
• The LFHS has published several indexes for the Louthesk Deanery to make your search easier. By 1911, the parish had been transfered to the new deanery of Ludborough.
   
• Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

• The parish was in the Binbrook sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
   
• Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Calcethorpe is a small parish approximately 8 Km or 5 miles west of Louth, just south of the A631 road between Louth and Market Rasen. Kelstern parish is to the north and Welton le Wold parish to the east. The parish covered about 1,090 acres.

There is little left of a central village, just some houses along the road. If you are planning a visit:

• The upper Bain chalk river rises from a spring near Calcethorpe and runs south to Horncastle. Most of the villagers lived along or near the river.
   
• Visit our touring page for more sources.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Calcethorpe to another place.

• The ancient village of Calcethorpe was virtually abandoned around 1660, about two hundred years after the nearby village of South Cadeby had been abandoned. Both existed in Saxon times and are recorded in the 1086 Domesday Book.
   
• Both ancient village sites are being preserved as "Deserted Medieval Villages".
   
• Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the deserted village area on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2007.

• Calcethorpe Manor was the residence of Leslie Philip STEPHENSON, a farmer, in 1913.

• See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF248883 (Lat/Lon: 53.376775, -0.124712), Calcethorpe which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• The name Calcethorpe is from a combination of Old English and Old Scandinavian caegel+thorpe, for "farmstead or hamlet of a man named Caegel". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Cheilestorp.
  ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

• This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
   
• The parish was in the Wold division of the ancient Louth Eske Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
   
• The parish merged with Kelstern in fairly modern times.
   
• For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Louth petty session hearings.
   
• After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Louth Poorlaw Union.
   

Year	Inhabitants
1801	36
1831	72
1841	69
1871	87
1881	82
1891	89
1901	76
1911	107

• The children of the parish attended school at Kelstern.
   
• For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.