Hide

Dowsby

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Library at Bourne will prove useful in your research.

topup

Cemeteries

John BLAKESTON has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church and Churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.

topup

Census

  • Dowsby parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 617
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2316
1871 R.G. 10 / 3312
1891 R.G. 12 / 2556
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
     
  • Some portions of the building appear to be from the early Norman period, around 1400.
     
  • The church was thoroughly restored and partially rebuilt in 1864.
     
  • The church seats only about 140 people.
     
  • Rex NEEDLE has a nice written profile of St. Andrew's Church.
     
  • There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
     
  • John BLAKESTON has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
     
  • David HITCHBORNE has a good photograph of St. Andrew's Church Tower on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     
  • Here are two photographs of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
     
image

 

image
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1670.
     
  • Dowsby was in the Aveland and Ness Deanery. You may wish to purchase some of the Deanery marriage indexes.
     
  • Wikipedia tells us that the church is now in the Lafford Deanery.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

Dowsby is both a town and a parish six miles north of Bourne. Rippingale parish lies to the south. The South Forty Foot Drain is the eastern border. East Graby is a hamlet in this parish, near the Aslackby parish border. The parish covers about 1,820 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," passes down the west side of the parish.
     
  • There is only once-a-week bus service at last report (2011) on Kimes Busses to Bourne. See our transport page for more information.
     
  • The nearest pub is in Aslackby.
     
  • Marathon has a photograph of the B1397 Road headed East on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2011. Tha caption is enlightning.
     
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Dowsby which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dowsby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • The Hoe Hills are a group of round barrows dating back to the Bronze Age. They lie just north of the village and east of Mill Lane.
     
  • Roman and Medieval finds have been made in the parish.
topup

Manors

  • Dowsby Hall is a fine Elizabethan mansion of stone.
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF113296 (Lat/Lon: 52.852236, -0.348473), Dowsby which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • The clock on the church tower was added as a war memorial for World War I.
     
  • Thre is a stone tablet in the parish church recording the names of the men who fell in World War I.
     
  • There's a single World War II grave in the churchyard shown at Traces of War.
topup

Military Records

The Commonwealth War Grave in St. Andrew's churchyard is for:

  1. Alexander Arthur JOLLY, srgt., RAF Vol. Rsv., age 22, 12 Aug 1944. Son of Alexander and Clarice JOLLY of Culverthorpe.
topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name Dowsby is from the Old Scandinavian Dusi+by, for "farmstead of Dusi", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Dusebi.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
     
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 136
1831 230
1841 232
1851 215
1871 195
1881 186
1891 171
1901 195
1911 205
topup

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1864 to hold up to 65 children.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.